(anti)Social MEdia

God is such an amazing artist! Praise Him!

Edit

“Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory. And he said to him, “All these I will give you, if you will fall down and worship me.” Then Jesus said to him, “Be gone, Satan! For it is written, “You shall worship the Lord your God and him only shall you serve.’” 

Matthew 4: 8-10



  Now, before I get started, I want to say that I am not intentionally attacking any form of social media. I also want to say how impressed I am that despite the title being what it is, you clicked the link and found yourself here. Perhaps you were intentionally seeking a young, Christian woman’s advice, or point of view, on a subject otherwise skirted around. In which case, I hope you find what I have to say as helpful. On that note, I personally would have to say that growing up in the generation that my fellow late 1990 early 2000’s babies and I have, we’ve seen technology explode. We went from cassette to CDs from VHS to DVDs from Nokia to iPhone 7 and Samsung Galaxy S7. My point being the average young adult in America today is very used to constant stimuli; starting with the fact that a TV was probably one of the most prominent “babysitters” during our most impressionable years.


This picture is meant to represent technology’s hold on today’s society starting with younger and younger generations.


   While, for the vast majority of us, our other babysitters were our teachers. If you happen to be a part of this majority (raises hand quietly…and hopes the teacher doesn’t see me) not only are you bombarded with 6+ subjects, extracurricular activities, etc. five or so days a week you then go home and fill your mind with music, TV, apps and so on. When does this leave time to seek God? Or figure out who He created you to be? We are so busy trying sell this image of ourselves when we don’t even know who we are yet. No wonder everyone is so self-absorbed, selfish, easily distracted, mean and angry. Oh, and let’s not forget that every day we are stuffed inside classrooms with 30+ kids/young adults our age and all we are doing is trying to FIT IN. We were all fearfully and wonderfully made and here we are being told we ALL have to perform at EXACTLY the same level, we all have to go to college, we all just want to be like everyone else because it’s so much easier than putting ourselves out there.

   On top of all that masking and coating ourselves trying to make us realize that we are nothing special… what do we do? We go home and our defeated selves get on our phones, TVs, radios, etc. We see flawless humans that make up about 5% of the Earth’s population, and even then they are photo shopped.  We see that someone else’s “selfie” got more likes than ours and for some reason that makes us feel less than the beautiful person God created us to be. We hear people cussing and talking others down; but, we have become so desensitized to it. We don’t realize how tired we are until we take a second and step back from it.

Romans 15: 14-15


14 “I myself am convinced, my brothers and sisters, that you yourselves are full of goodness, filled with knowledge and competent to instruct one another. 15 Yet I have written you quite boldly on some points to remind you of them again, because of the grace God gave me.”


   It is exhausting keeping up with everything from various dating apps to Snapchat to Facebook and so on and so forth. We get so wrapped up in it all that we find ourselves getting our self worth from whether or not we got a heart on a picture… or whether or not someone opened a Snapchat and responded. The only One that we should look to for any ounce of self worth is God. Ask yourself, “Why do I feel the need to share that photo or post that status?” Take a moment to T.H.I.N.K. is it True, Helpful, Intelligent/Inspiring, Necessary or Kind? Will that picture of you or that status about what you just did help someone or build them up? Or, are you merely looking for someone to say something to make you feel better about yourself? You don’t have to tell me or share your answer with anyone else… but, be honest with yourself. I know the answer for me was a big ol’ “YES.” Who doesn’t like to be told that they are pretty? Or that the concert they went to was so cool and that they are so “lucky?” Or that the “random” nice act that they did was so generous and they are the nicest person on the face of this Earth?

   Everyone on social media makes it look so normal (I’m not even going to put quotes around the word normal here) that you don’t even question how silly it is to want a complete and total stranger to like your face or, one more, to feel less about yourself when they don’t. Vice versa, why are we so interested in someone who we don’t know’s (or even do’s) outfit, makeup or ALL DAY life in general? It really makes you T.H.I.N.K. (See what I did there?) twice before wanting to put yourself, or a piece of your life, out there for everyone to see. Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying you have to go out and delete all of your social media. But, what I am saying is how freeing it is. How much more “in the moment” you become. You also find out very quickly who your real “friends” are by seeing who puts forth effort to stay in contact and actually cares how you’re doing.


Social MEdia

   Why do we feel like everyone, or anyone, should want to know what we are doing at any given time of the day? Do we really hold ourselves that high? The only one who we should hold to such a high degree is God. Maybe you enjoy your social medias, that’s fine. There is nothing wrong with that and I would argue that they can definitely be used for good. But, if you take anything from this consider taking a “break” from social media. Be honest with yourself and set a reasonable goal that you know you won’t break. Maybe it’s a month, maybe it’s a week, maybe it’s only three days… But, if the thought of taking just one day “off” makes you the least bit anxious… I strongly encourage you to re-evaluate your relationship with your phone.

Numbers 6:24-26

In Jesus’ Name

2 Comments Add yours

  1. minstrelgirl451 says:

    I read this post Sunday morning, and it inspired me to purposefully set aside my phone and social media unless they were absolutely necessary. It made the day much more restful, but I was surprised how often I felt an urge to check Facebook or comment on your post right then! Thank you for writing this, I will be taking a weekly rest from social media thanks to you. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Hello!

      Thank you so much for coming back and commenting. It definitely is much harder than you’d think! But I personally think it is worth it. Like you said, and I agree, it makes the day much more restful. I think it’s amazing you are deciding to take a weekly rest! (Just remember to give yourself grace; I like that you allow yourself to check in some cases.) I pray you have a blessed day!

      This side of Heaven,
      Summer Rae

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

