Positive Outcomes – of deleting social media.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31: 6


 What good could possibly come from deleting your “best friends?” I know we all LOVE being glued to our phone all day and night, 25/8. But, I am here to tell you what they don’t want you to know… there is, in fact, life on the other side of the screen in front of your face right now. (Though, I am very grateful that you are reading this and I do appreciate it very much.) Obviously I use a form of technology, or two, to provide this opinionated cluster of words hoping to provide some form of encouragement/advice. So no, I am not saying rid your house of all technology… stoves and light bulbs whilst you’re at it! 

   The thing is if you looked at all of your apps right now, more likely than not, your social media and gaming apps probably equal or outweigh the amount of preset apps on your phone. I would go as far to say that you probably don’t even have one God based/focused app… am I wrong? If I am and you’re here merely for some stronger conformation don’t mind me and keep on readin’. If I am not wrong please, by no means feel bad/ judged; up until about six months ago my phone looked exactly like that. The problem with that, was… I didn’t see a problem with that. 

   In my previous “(anti)Social MEdia” post I mentioned that I am not telling you to delete all of your social media and I believe that yes, they can be used in a positive and constructive way. The thing is, we have all of this information and all of these apps out there to be bettering ourselves. There are Bible apps, devotion apps, health apps galore, apps where you can learn an entire language. (For free! …I’m currently teaching myself braille because, well, it’s available.) But… you know… effort, and why work on self growth when you could make your face look like a puppy? It’s so easy to just “veg” out on today’s media especially when there is so much going on all of the time. But, when you actually step back you see some really positive outcomes. (Okay, I’m really getting to the point here now I promise, don’t go anywhere!) 

Romans 15: 13 (NIV)


“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”


   The first thing I noticed was how surprisingly easy it was. Don’t get me wrong you’re still going to check your phone every five seconds for the first few days… you know, like how someone who has lost an arm still feels an itch? No? Okay… moving on. You will start to notice that if whoever you just cut contact with (I went cold turkey; I gave no warning and just straight up deleted everything) wanted to contact you or was all that important/interested they probably have your number as well and could have/would have contacted you if they so desired. Honestly (sadly) our generation has become so desensitized, or used to, being “so close” to someone one week and realizing that you don’t even talk anymore the next… so, this may be easier for you than you think.

   If you are anything like the majority of 16-25 year olds (guilty) whether you want to admit it or not you get/got some degree of your self-worth from “friends,” male or female, telling you you’re pretty or just giving you some form of attention all day. This is unhealthy for a number of reasons… but, one of the most important things we need to realize is that the only one who should give us any form of self-worth is God. As a result of looking up from the screen in front of your face (I am laughing at myself as I type this on my phone…) you will find yourself enjoying the moment that you are in twice as much because now, you are focused more on what you are doing and less on documenting it. It’ll feel like you have so much more time when you aren’t trying to “keep up” with 10 different apps. The relationships and TRUE friendships that you have will strengthen and mean so much more when they become less superficial and equal amounts of effort are being put in. 

   Please, don’t feel judged or silly; I am able to share this with you because I’ve been there. For me, without school or today’s world constantly being pushed at me I finally started to feel like… me. The only one I’m trying to “impress” is God and the only person I’m trying to be “better than” is the person I was yesterday. When you put God first, when you truly seek Him first, your life starts to change in the most beautiful way. I pray that this has helped you in some way. Answered a question you came here with or maybe one you didn’t even know you had. Thank you so much for reading.

Praise God in ALL things!

Numbers 6: 24-26
In Jesus’ Name

Leave a Reply

