Modern Modesty

 

Proverbs 31: 10

Proverbs 31:30New International Version (NIV)

30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised 

 

 When you wake up in the morning and you go to get dressed… what is your first thought? Is it the latest trends? Maybe it’s what everyone else or your best friend might be wearing? Maybe it’s that cute boy at school/the office (yeah, him) and what he would think… or, maybe you’re one of those girls that dresses for “you.” Well, then I think it’s time you sat yourself down and had an honest conversation. 

   Just in case no one has told you yet, let me start by telling you, you deserve to hold yourself to a higher standard. (Because of a Higher Power! Can I get an amen?) Don’t mark yourself down to match the price of the world. You are so much more, worth so much more, than the clothes you wear or how much you spent on them. Your heart and mind are far more than good enough for those who are meant to be in your life and truly love you. That worth? It’s doesn’t come from me telling you this, it doesn’t even come from YOU repeating it to yourself… ALL of your worth comes from your loving Heavenly Father. So why are young women (and men for that matter) today okay with degrading themselves? Have we become so used to it that we don’t even notice?

   Now, I understand those days when we have to put a little more brain power into what we wear; so, for contents sake let’s just say we are talking about our every day, Joe Shmoe, wardrobe. Why is it that our first thoughts aren’t: is it comfortable? Is it modest? Will I be able to go throughout my day and remain both comfortable and modest? Initially (I’m going from personal experience here) your first thought will probably be something along the lines of: “If I have to meet A-Z requirements then I have nothing to wear!”

   Well, first, there isn’t an ABCs to being modest (everything from length, to the message you are displaying); everyone is convicted in their own time. Second, you do have things to wear; in fact I’d go as far as to say you have a whole closet full of things to wear. Whether you are willing to layer/change things or not is another question entirely. Last, but most definitely NOT least, ask yourself, “Would I feel comfortable wearing this if God were standing in front of me?” Because, whether we like to remember it or not, He already is standing right in front of us, watching each one of us that closely.

Proverbs 15: 3 New International Version  (NIV)

“The eyes of the LORD are everywhere, keeping watch on the wicked and the good.”


   As you ask yourself these questions think about this… is that cute shirt or those jeans, that make you feel like “all that and a bag of chips,” worth it? Is it worth potentially causing a fellow brother in Christ to slip up? Let me guess, “Well, they don’t have to look.” …do I even have to comment on this one? Just let it sink in. I read something once that said something along the lines of, “Dress for that man’s wife.” and it has stuck with me ever since. When you think about it, it isn’t about you. Put yourself in her shoes. If you were walking down the street with your husband would you want even a split second of questioning whether he noticed someone walking by or not? I didn’t think so. 


Philippians 2: 3 New International Version  (NIV)


“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves,”


   As I mentioned earlier everyone is convicted in their own time and in their own ways. One day you’ll love a certain outfit and the next you’ll put it on and feel… uncomfortable, exposed. Adopting a modest lifestyle does not happen in a day. It takes time, learning, growing. But, it is more than worth it. You start feeling more comfortable with who you are and less concerned with what you are. Once you stop focusing so much on the image you are trying to sell everyone, to have them see you one way or another, you start finding the person in the picture.


1 Timothy 2: 9 New Living Translation (NLT)


   So, the next time you go to get dressed I challenge you to ask yourself these three questions: FIRST! Would I be comfortable wearing this if God was standing in front of me? Next, am I comfortable/do I feel good/do I feel like me in this outfit? Finally, would I want someone walking by my husband dressed like this? 

   As women of God we have a responsibility to our fellow Christians, to ourselves and first and foremost… to God.


Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shelby Turner says:

    Going off your point about of someone walking by your “husband”: One of the things I think about too is “would my future husband be okay with me dressing like this?” Because I also think that thinking of the future is important and it a conciderate way of respecting your future spouse.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Yes, I couldn’t agree more! Thank you for your comment Shelby!

      Like

Leave a Reply

