Luck had nothing to do with it!

   The majority of people today have probably never thought twice when hearing or saying, “You’re/that’s so lucky!” and why would they? Like me, they’ve probably grown up hearing it everywhere they go. Our hearts and minds most likely mean it in the most beautifully, innocent, genuine way; possibly even with God at the main focus of what we are saying. 


Psalm 14: 10 New King James Version  (NKJV)

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.”

   But, have you ever stepped back and looked at the words you are saying? By chalking it up to “luck” we are belittling, or degrading, the blessing that God has just placed in front of us. No, it’s not luck, it’s our Heavenly Father. 


“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.” James 1:17 NKJV

   I remember the first time someone mentioned it to me… I was sitting in the living room with some of my siblings and they were telling me a story and I said something along the lines of, “Oh, you’re so lucky!” and my thirteen year old brother said, “It’s not lucky, it’s blessed.” At first I didn’t know what to think… I wasn’t sure I understood what he meant. But, then I retraced my words. (Which being surrounded by young ones 89% of the time, you learn to choose your words carefully… which, I know, we should do anyway.) 

Psalm 141: 3 New King James Version  (NKJV)

“Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.”


   It may seem like such a small everyday phrase that doesn’t make much difference either way… but, the way I see it (now) is this: why wouldn’t you want to take just that one more step to give all of the glory you possibly can to your Heavenly Father?

   At first, its hard to change a term you’ve used your whole life; but, soon it becomes normal and you no longer think about it. Plus, it’s fun to catch people off guard when they casually say, “You’re/that’s so lucky!” and you come back with, “Luck had nothing to do with it, it’s all God!”


Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Colleen Myers says:

    Yes!! I love this! So blessed by you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Thank you, that makes my heart so happy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

