Make the cake… and eat it too! 

   Today’s story actually took place a few months ago; Mama and Papa decided to renew their vows. (Again… for the bazillionth time… they inspire me, in so many ways!) Mama can’t have gluten so I was going to make her a special gluten free cake. 

*Us girls and our bouquets.

   This wasn’t going to be any old cake, no, this cake was going to be a work of culinary art. I had it all planned out. I was going to make a triple layer cake with smoothed powdered sugar on the outside and maybe some simple white frosting details. The bottom layer was going to be a dark blue, the middle layer was going to a lighter shade of blue and the top was going to be white. Pretty right? I thought so too.

   Well, I mixed the (funfetti… because we didn’t have white cake) batter, slapped it in the oven and everything was going great. When I pulled out my cakes, despite the coloring being lighter than I would have liked, they were perfect! I was able to cut them to the sizes I wanted with ease and the texture was spot on

1 Corinthians 16: 14 New King James Version  (NKJV)

“Let all that you do be done with love.”

   Turns out just stacking the layers on top of each other is not the way to go about making a three tiered cake… also, just brushing powdered sugar on the cake does not work… the cake will just soak it up and you will end up with crumbs everywhere. I tried to fix it by adding more frosting… and then thought I could try to cover it with blue frosting…

(Sad to say) I was devastated. 

   Here we are only a few days away from the ceremony and my cake was the furthest from anything you might see on “Ace of Cakes.” (Fortunately we had a family friend who had offered to make a cake as well and she did an amazing job, her cake was stunning!!) While, everyone kept telling me it was fine and assuring me that it wasn’t “that bad.” I couldn’t shake this feeling of failure.

1 Thessalonians 5: 11 New International Version  (NIV)

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.”

  

   I know that practice makes progress and me getting worked up over a cake is ridiculous. I may like things a certain way; but, it doesn’t have to be perfect to be special. Mama loved the cake and said that it was incredibly delicous. 

   In life, we tend get so focused on the task at hand and what is right in front of us… that we may lose sight of why we are doing it and who we are doing it for. Things may not always turn out how we want. (In fact, I would say most of the time they don’t.) But that doesn’t mean that they don’t turn out the way they should. From this experience I learned that focusing so much energy towards making something like a cake and to be as upset as I was at it not being perfect is just plain silly and not okay. 

   What matters most is pleasing God… and I’m pretty sure God doesn’t care what my cake looks like. God doesn’t care how we look, what brand we are wearing, or what we are driving when we come to Him… He only cares that we come to Him. He sees past the physical, material, worldly things and straight to our hearts. We need to learn how to see past the product in front of us and instead the heart and motives behind it; because that’s what’s important. I made a special, gluten free cake so that Mama could have some at her vow renewal and she loved it… that is what matters. 

“And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the LORD and not to men, knowing that from the LORD you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the LORD Christ.” Colossians 3: 23-24 NKJV

Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name

Leave a Reply

