Hold onto the Sock!

   Before I get started let me give a little “prologue” if you will… awhile back I went to a workout class with Mama and when we came out I was missing a sock from one of my shoes… now, I was more shocked than I was upset. I’m not sure how many people would take a dirty sock and not the shoes; I’m sure it was an accident and someone got a less than happy surprise when they got home and saw someone’s dirty sock. Aaaany who… Mama told me that I should hold onto the sock incase the other one shows back up. But, unfortunately, I had already tossed it thinking that the other one was long gone and I didn’t want to hold on to just one sock.

Proverbs 19: 20

   

   Fast forward a week or so, I was doing laundry and when I got to the folding portion of the event I noticed that, again, I had only one half of a pair of socks (this is not out of the ordinary around here). But, this time I knew that it had to be somewhere in the house… so, I took the sock, threw it in my drawer and continued with my day.

John 14: 27 New King James Version  (NKJV) 

“Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”


   At first, everytime I went to get a pair of socks I saw the lonely, unpaired sock just sitting there out of place and wondered if I shouldn’t just toss it since I had yet to see it’s partner in crime. But, I left it. 

   Over the next couple of weeks, the drawer getting shuffled and various loads of laundry going in and out there was still no sign of the missing sock and now the sock I did have was at the bottom of my drawer out of sight. Although, everytime I went to do laundry it came to mind; because I knew it was there… and so I kept my eye out for it, not letting that little bit of hope that I’d find it go. (Keep in mind, I like to match my socks so I’m holding on to this little, simple, plain, gray thing for weeks… knowing I wouldn’t wear it if I didn’t find it’s match…)

Romans 8: 25 New International Version  (NIV) 

“But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.”


   As I am washing my bedding I get it all the way through the washer and dryer and am making my bed when I see it… right there… plain as day… the sock! I almost didn’t believe it and when I looked in my drawer for the other one and didn’t see it right away I felt a moment of, “Well, there goes that…” But, it was there so I folded them up, shut the drawer and that was that.

   Sometimes we may not fully understand exactly what God is telling us to do or why He is having us do it; but we are called to trust and obey. He may leave reminders, here and there, to help us. So that at times when we are feeling uncertain, or concerned with what to do next, we see them or think of them and continue to have hope and faith in knowing that He has a plan. Don’t lose faith just because it may not make sense to you in the moment. Because one day, He will bring everything together. That through your faith and patience in Him, He took your then and your now and made a beautiful pair. 

Romans 8: 28

Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name 

Leave a Reply

