It’s Not About You

  **Please pardon the interruption… if you are on my “E-Mailer” list you may have received an E-Mail from me yesterday of some of my notes that I went to save and and accidently published… consider it a sneak peek of a post to come! Thank you for your patience and now back to your regularly scheduled programming…

I was a little petrified when I noticed I had hit the publish button and I scrambled to quickly delete it; hoping it wouldn’t make it to your inboxes… but, alas it did… and well, we all make mistakes and “oopses” …it reminded me to make sure I slow down and take my time. Okay, here we go:

   Have you ever mindfully paid attention to how many times you say the words “I” or “me” or “my” in a day? Well… recently I did just that; let me tell you, it really opens your eyes. As I observed, I realized that you could be one of the most selfless people but, you will still find that you say it more than you think. If you listen carefully to the conversations around you the majority of them are solely based around one letter… I.

   Most conversations, not all… but most, can be categorized into four groups: our own likes and dislikes, stories of things we’ve done or that have happened to us, the likes/dislikes of others and the stories of others (including celebrities along with our family and friends). Of course “weaseling” their way in we find things like: politics, current events and you know, our Almighty Heavenly Father and our Savior Jesus Christ.

Ephesians 4: 29 NIV

   One would think that with the majority of conversation being focused on really one topic (depending on how you look at it) that we would run out of things to say. But, as it turns out, we are really interested in other people; and in turn ourselves. If you take a moment and decide to become more consciously aware of your conversations you will automatically find a difference in your attitude. 

   When everything is shifted to where your main focus is on God and others before you think of what happened to you or what you like or what you think about a given subject a giant “pressure” is taken off. It makes our demeanor automatically more selfless because we are less concerned with “me, me, me.” We are designed to come together and share in one another’s burdens and to rejoice in one another’s joys and successes.

   It is so much easier to talk about ourselves or fill the air with “simple fluff” because we don’t have to think, we already know the answers. But, when you think about it… you realize that we are such a small blip in time and that in the grand scheme of things our time here on Earth is so short. We only have so many opportunities to spread and share God’s love and amazing grace… so when the opportunity does arise we need to make sure that we seize it! 

Mark 16: 15 NKJV

   Of course, it would be silly of me to say that I will never mention myself, or my likes/dislikes again; I love sharing stories. Also, I absolutely love listening to other people’s stories and learning more about them and what God has done in their lives. But… I will (and I challenge you to) make an effort to be more conscientious in conversation to think firstly, of what God would want or think or do and use His name rather than my own.

Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name

Leave a Reply

