Re-Ad(dress)ing My Wardrobe

  It’s Saturday night; I’m sitting here on the couch, writing to you, after a long day waiting to watch the sermon that is currently paused on the tv. One of my brothers is playing the piano, another is playing some video game on a DS, the sounds of the night’s shows are drifting from various bedrooms and the clunk of the dryer and laughter is echoing from the dinning room… I don’t know how I would concentrate if it were quiet! (Yet again, if you are on my e-mailer list this was as far as you saw last night when I accidently hit publish… uh, April Fools?… aaanyway sorry about that and here is the rest!)

   This week I started a few different topics and they ended up not being quite what I wanted… so, as I sit here going over the various things I could write about I finally decided on this: the fact that recently, I made the decision to start wearing more skirts.

Centerpieces I made for a baby shower a few weeks ago!

   

   The idea has actually been in the back of my mind for awhile now… I think really starting when I met the wonderful Diggles family. The women of the family wore lovely, modest, feminine skirts and dresses and I started asking mama more questions then. 

   Over the next few months I caught episodes of the show “Jill & Jessa: Counting On” based mainly on two of the Duggar family’s daughters. Seeing their skirts/dresses was also very inspiring… Then this last week one of our candle guests, Miss Christine, wore skirts also… It is a very feminine, modest way of dressing and I just love the idea of it!

   So… as you can tell, it seemed to be a reoccuring topic and I had this feeling that wouldn’t leave me alone. I wanted some wise advice/counsel on the subject so I talked to Mama about it and she agreed that it was a good idea.

I am so blessed to have such Godly, wise mentors in my life!

   Of course, at first it’s a little difficult and slow going… seeing as I don’t currently own many skirts… but, I’m working on that! Change (of any kind) is always a little messy in the beginning; trying to find the right balance and “work out the kinks” can be overwhelming. But, it’s an exciting change that I know will be worth it! 

   Now, I’m not saying that I personally think pants are bad (as long as they are modest of course) everyone is convicted in their own time. I’m not even sure mine is a conviction, I just feel as though this is what I am being led to do. I am so grateful for this time in my life where I am able to focus fully on seeking GOD and what He wants/has for me and my life.

Bible verses and pretty flowers… these are some of my favorite things!

   In closing I would like encourage you to not be afraid. Don’t be scared to make a change. Don’t be worried about others will think or say… as long as what you are doing lines up with the word of GOD that is truly all that matters. I also would like to leave you with a challenge: this week, I challenge you to evaluate your life. Is there any area where you know you could be doing better? Maybe you are trying to convince yourself you are doing “good enough” or  maybe you are intimidated by other people… but, at the end of the day the only one you have to answer for is yourself.

Thank you LORD that I don’t have to do this on my own! Thank you for being with me and blessing my life with wonderful people to walk beside me as I go… praise your Holy name!

  There will always be something we can work on… but, we don’t have to be afraid. God is right here to help us through it. Be excited about making a change in the name of GOD! Knowing that you are never alone and that it is the most important, worth it thing you can do with your life.

Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name

6 thoughts on “Re-Ad(dress)ing My Wardrobe

  1. I started the skirt wearing journey a few years ago and it has been a blessing. They are so much more comfortable and modest. And being the mom of two young men I wanted to help them as much as possible to stay pure. I have a two piece skirt pattern made by a young lady a year older than you. it was my second clothing item I ever made and it was simple and satisfying. I could send it to you, after I cut out one. That will motivate me to make one more! Such a blessing to meet you this last week!! God is doing such great work in your heart! And I look forward to exploring your blog!
    Ms. Christine

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would be lovely; I would love to be able to make my own skirts! That is so kind of you to offer I appreciate it. It was a blessing to meet you as well and thank you for the recipes I look forward to trying them! Anything good you see in me is all GOD. I pray you have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “This week, I challenge you to evaluate your life. Is there any area where you know you could be doing better?” Hmmmm… Yep, I can think of several things… I’m so glad God doesn’t give up on us, but continues to draw us closer to Him, even when our progress seems slow and faltering!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Enjoyed this post very much and needed the encouragement to attempt personal change, particularly since God has been tugging at my heart strings for a very long time on a specific issue. My issue is using excess food for comfort or pleasure or entertainment. I know God wants my obedience in this area of my life and He wants first place in my heart. Today, I told myself that I need to lean on His promises like “with God all things are possible”. I need to stop listening to the voice in my head that says “you’ll never be able to lose the excess weight”. Thank you, Summer Rae for reminding me that God doesn’t give up on us and I can do better and the need for evaluation and introspection is important and worth it to God. To God be the glory. Have a blessed day!

    Like

    1. I am so glad I was able to offer some form of encouragement to you; Praise the LORD! Through our faith in Christ all things are possible (Philippians 4: 13). I know what that is like and I am currently on my own journey finding a healthy balance with food… it is key to realize that patience is such an important part of it and that it takes time. Once you realize that food is naturally designed as a source of energy and that we could be using our day/time in so many other productive ways it truly makes a difference!

      Like

Leave a Reply

