A “Piercing” Conviction

   Before I get started here, I want to make sure I make one thing very clear: I am not writing this with the intention to “shame” anyone. I have no right to judge; that job belongs to my Heavenly Father alone. I am simply writing to you to share my experiences and my point of view on the life lessons I continue to learn. Sooo, with all of that politicalness out of the way here we go.

Search my heart LORD and help me to line up my life according to your plan for me…

   (I don’t know if you can tell buuut…) Recently, I have been doing a lot of self-evaluation… one of the things I started second guessing were my earrings. Now, that may seem a bit extreme; but, I do have six piercings on my ears (three on each ear). I did some “research” and dove into the Bible to see what I could find on the topic.

   As I read, I also asked those around me for their view on the subject; still, I didn’t find anything specific that made the decision (either way) clear. I left the earrings in; but, I did end up deciding to change them all out for smaller sized studs (which, weren’t the best material so they ended up turning my ears a little green; but, to me it was worth it for the smaller size). Still, something about them made me feel a little exposed… but, I wasn’t quite convinced that I was convicted. 

John 16: 8 New King James Version (NKJV)

“And when He has come, He will convict the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment:”

   I went over everything at least twice. “The empty holes will look weird and/or gross.” “What if I wanted them back someday?” “They aren’t that clunky/blingy…” “They are just earrings afterall.” and even, “What if my future husband likes them/What if he doesn’t?” …I could go on, but, I am sure you get the idea. I kept trying to convince myself that it was fine; that I was doing fine. The thing is: GOD knows I can be doing better than fine… and He wasn’t going to let me forget it.

   Like any other decision I handed it over to the LORD in prayer. Of course, when I rang, He answered. He dropped in His answers through conversations and the lack of success in trying to find even smaller earrings, that didn’t cost me and arm and a leg (needing three pairs could get expensive quick)… 

LORD you have blessed my life with so much… please help to always remember to be a frugal as I possibly can. Praise Your Holy name, amen!

   Then, one day a week (or so) ago it happened. As I stood there in the store looking at earrings that I hoped wouldn’t turn my ears green, while remaining as frugal as possible, I asked Mama her opinion. Amongst the blessed conversation she pointed out that the ones that I was already wearing really didn’t make my ears that green. I looked in the tiny mirror they squeeze between the earring displays… she was right.

   I had built up this image in my mind that they looked far more green, and gross, and bulky than they actually did. That’s when I felt this bubbling excitement start; it was like… soda in my heart! Because that was when I decided it was time to stop making excuses and start doing something about it. 

Joshua 1:9 New International Version (NIV) 

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your GOD will be with you wherever you go.”

  

 That night (or the next) I took out one earring from each side… and not long after that I took out the next two. Leaving just one earring on each side, and I am so happy that I did. To me personally it looks more mature, clean and (you guessed it) modest. I didn’t need all of that going on… and guess what? The now bare holes are so small I don’t even think about them. As it turns out, people don’t seem to care or pay one bit of attention to the holes in your ears (shocker…). 
  

 Now, in my case I think GOD was trying to tell me something; but, everyone is convicted in their own times and in their own ways. I pray that you take this in the spirit that it is given…

I personally don’t see anything with earrings; but, for me personally I felt as if this was what GOD was leading me to do.

   Maybe you are as happy as can be with your jewelry situation. Search your heart, invite GOD to search your heart, maybe their is an area where you are trying to convince yourself that, “You are just fine.” But, you can’t shake that feeling of uneasiness… and you are loosing the battle of uneccessary added stress… that little nudge is GOD trying to say, “I know you are not fine, let me help.” I challenge you to allow yourself to surrender to Him. Trust in knowing that He knows what’s best.

Numbers 6: 24-26

In Jesus’ Name 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tina says:

    Love your earring story and what you are permitting God to do in your heart and soul, Summer Rae. And that you share it with others publicly is very brave. I would love to send you a pair of earrings (your favorite color and a modest style of course) as I bead and make hand-crafted items. I have a 27 year old son who I love to pieces but fortunately, he doesn’t wear earrings. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Thank you so much; it is all for His glory! That is so very kind of you to offer; but, for safety purposes I do not disclose my address. Although your son does not wear them, I’m sure he can appreciate the hard work from afar!

      Like

Leave a Reply

