My Calling

“What do you want to do?”

This is a question that as a twenty-one year old young woman I am often asked. Though my answer usually comes out worded differently each time (depending on who is asking and what prompted it this time) it can always be summed up in one word: “This.”

“Well, what’s next?” (Apparently people don’t really accept/fully understand “Whatever God says.”)

Based on how the last few years of my life have gone… I honestly cannot even begin to tell you where I think I will be in a year from now. Only God knows. How exciting is that?! He has this whole story planned out for me… and all I have to do is follow Him to live it and get my “happy ever after.”

While I may not know exactly where I’ll be… I do have a pretty good idea… for example: I know (Lord willing) that I will have a place that I can call home. I know I can always go home and be surrounded by people who love and care for me. I also know, that I won’t be at college. I am more confident and comfortable in that fact now more than ever.

“Hello world, my name is Summer and I am not going to college.”

I do not believe there is anything particularly wrong with going to college. If the career, or path, you are being led towards requires it then I am all for it! I also believe that furthering your education is very important. (Every day is school and an opportunity to learn something new!) But, spending the “rest of your life” paying off loans used to pay for a piece of paper that you never end up using or that stuck you in a job where you are miserable… just doesn’t appeal to me.

I am no longer scared to say what I truly want to be when I “grow up” …a stay at home wife and mother. (I am learning that this really is an acceptable answer.)

I look back over the various occupations I would write down growing up as I had to come up with “What I wanted to be.” Honestly, being a stay at home mom never crossed my mind… That much was expected; but, what was my other full time job going to be? Well, I can remember wanting to be a teacher (the first time in 1st grade because I wanted to write on the whiteboard), then I wanted to be a chef/baker, then an interior designer, then a photographer, I think I wanted to do hair and makeup at one point, then a business woman and then a teacher again (the second time because I wanted to inspire and help kids to love to learn; specifically english and writing).

I can remember placing each job on the back burner one by one telling myself they could be “hobbies” and I needed to find a career where I could make more money (yeah, I was one of thoooose)… Now that I am beyond blessed to have a strong support system and that I get to call my everyday life of hanging out with my siblings, cleaning and writing to you my “job” I don’t have to worry about any of that. God will provide.

I know my heart for teaching is preparing me to be a homeschool mom one day. My love for cooking/baking will come in handy when I have a family. Having a mind for business and organizing things is crucial in managing a home. A passion for interior design will make making my home… home a loving task, not a chore. Loving photography will make capturing memories even more of a fun experience. The whole hair and make up thing… weeell, I’m sure that will come in handy too.

Yes, we are all given different skill sets or “gifts” to be able to widely and uniquely serve the Kingdom the best we can. As a young woman it has been made pretty clear to me what my Lord has been preparing me for.

No longer will I feel intimidated by the questions of what I am doing with my life…

No longer will I stumble for the words to describe what I want to “be”…

No longer will I be ashamed or scared to tell others my answer…

“What do you want to be?”

“I want to be a wife and stay at home mom. I also plan to continue sharing GOD’s love through my writing and serve the Kingdom the best that I possibly can; one day at a time.”

What do you want to be when you grow up?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time; I pray your day, every day, is blessed.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Mama Diggles says:

    Keep writing! I really enjoy reading your blogs. You are blessed with a wonderful mama, papa, and a household of siblings! 🙂 I am sure that Christina will be able to relate to what you talked about in this post. She is often asked that same question. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Thank you so much! I appreciate your encouragement. 😊 I feel extremely blessed! I am sure Christina does receive similar questions and I hope that it offers her encouragement as well.

      Like

  2. Mama Flynn says:

    Precious.. just like you. Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

