Fried Egg Sewing Vlog Kombucha.

So! For staters the other day it was 116° at the height of the day so what did one of my brothers do? He fried an egg on the sidewalk. I do not believe that he ended up eating this one because it got a little too cooked and shriveled up to almost nothing… but, I do believe that there are plans to do it again in the near future! (Maybe he will add some pancakes and bacon too! …I’ll keep you posted on the outside cooking events.)

“The LORD will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthened your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” Isaiah 58: 11

Three weeks ago now we had our first sewing class from the lovely Miss Carol. (I had sewn before; but, it had been a few years.) We made pillow cases and learned some neat, new, little tricks! Two weeks ago she came back and we started learning how to make our very own skirts! (She makes all of her clothing.) She is very talented in her skill and is an amazing teacher; we are very blessed to know her.

I am so excited to be able to have the opportunity to learn and “hone in” this skill. What a cool blessing to be able to make my own clothing. While, I’m sure shirts are a little more complicated; we will get to that eventually… baby steps… Not only is there the opportunity to be frugal but, how awesome is it to be able to make your clothes fit exactly how you want as well as look exactly how you want down to the thread color?!

20170614_145528
“I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139: 14

Another new and exciting thing is that Kasey has started his vlog. He is using it to document his life and the days and events of the “Happy Home.” I love his first video and he is working on more as we speak! I am excited to see where this takes him; he is so talented with video making and editing. (This one right… HERE… makes me laugh so hard I cry… every. time.)

“praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.” Acts 2: 47

As far as recent candle guests go I already mentioned the wonderful people from Plurway Ministries coming. It was so nice to see them again and they had a productive time ministering at the rave a few weeks ago. Actually, I do have a kind of cool story to go with that…

“Declare His glory among the nations, His marvelous deeds among all peoples.” Psalm 96: 3

One day a few weeks ago I had gone out to breakfast and while I was waiting for the rest of my party to arrive there was a group of guys in front of me finishing paying for their meal. I got a feeling about them, that I couldn’t quite put my finger on… but there was no way I was going to start a conversation with a random group of guys. When one of them was done paying he took a seat near me and I looked up toward the register as another was handing over his card and thats when I saw it! He was wearing one of the bracelets; I looked over at the guy sitting next to me and he was wearing one too! I second guessed if I should say anything… but, I figured that maybe it was a chance to share God’s love a little so I did:

Me: “I noticed you are wearing a Plurway Ministry bracelet, I helped make some not too long ago.” (The odds that either of them were wearing one I made is 1 in a 1,000; the odds of them having a bracelet at all was 1 in over 10,000.)

Him: “Oh yeah, they were handing them out at the thing.”

Me: “They are really awesome people, drive safe.”

That was about it because by that point they were walking out the door… I can hope that maybe me seeing that and mentioning it to him was a little reminder or gentle nudge to check out their site and perhaps learn a little more about God and His love. If not, well, it was good practice for me to speak up and say something when I feel that nudge or get that feeling.

Oh! Another candle guest we had was the lovely Hawkins family. They were here to pick up three orphans from Kyrgyzstan and take them home for a few weeks. It was so nice to talk to them and get to know them a little bit. They will be back to take them back to the airport. Please pray for this beautiful family and those little blessings that they may be united together, if it’s God’s will, and that when they return to Kyrgyzstan that they may bring God’s love back with them.

In other exciting news this last week we were interviewed to be on the local news station. They have a program called “Wednesday’s Child” to help kids in foster care find their forever families. Mama helps take pictures of the kids to help get their story out there and they asked her to do an “adoption success” story. I am so grateful to be a part of such a beautiful family and to be able to see how the Lord orchestrates our lives and every one around us. I pray that this story is able to inspire others to open their hearts  (and homes) as well. Just how much we (you included) are able to affect and bless others is beyond my understanding… God is amazing.

“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.” 1 Thessalonians 5: 11

Before I forget!! We also made our first batch of flavored kombucha! We made blueberry-ginger, strawberry-cherry and strawberry-mango. We just played around with the fruits we already had around… I am so excited to see how they turn out!

**Update: We need to add more fruit next time… but, the strawberry-mango one was yummy!

“so that you may live a life worthy of the LORD and please Him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God,” Colossians 1: 10

As far as big, exciting, new events go I think that about covers it for now… but, as always I’ll keep you posted!

Until next time; I pray your day, every day, is blessed.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine McKinney says:

    I have not forgot that I was going to send you the skirt pattern. I have lost it. I have a skirt made from the lost pattern, so yesterday I used it as a pattern. I laid out my fabric (a lovely shower curtain gotten for free from our church’s clothing ministry where I volunteer twice a month) and traced it with a sharpie then cut it out. The elastic band was tricky as I had to stretch it out to trace it for a pattern. But the Lord helped me on my quiet day to finish it and I wore it to church today. Nice and long and cool.
    I like the fabric of the skirt you have in the picture here. How many panels did you do? I bet it was nice to get the proper help and tips from someone who knows what they are doing!! I can’t read patterns that come from the store. I am impressed and so happy for you to learn the skills!
    We stayed with the Hawkins on our way down to stay with you guys! Small world. And they told us about the orphans they had last Summer. I am glad they have them again! I will pray for them. They are a sweet family!
    How can we check out Kasey’s vlog? I bet it is well done!
    The Lord’s blessings to you and your dear family!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Hello Miss Christine!

      That is okay! I’m sorry you lost it… but, I’m happy you were able to make another one like it. Free fabric is awesome, good find! It is funny that you made that yesterday because I just finished the second skirt I have made for myself yesterday. It is a black and white handkerchief pattern, its long with five panels and has pockets! The skirt in the picture has six panels and I made one for all of the girls to match; the fabric is very light and comfy. (The picture was taken before I finished it because I was too happy! I finished the hem with an open zigzag stitch so it would fray.) Patterns can be tricky… with the little girls skirts I just “eyeballed” it…

      I love hearing how connected everyone is! The orphans they have this year are a different group; I will be praying too they get to come back together, LORD willing. I agree they are very nice!

      In the paragraph about his blog there are two links. (Please let me know if they work!) I personally love all of his videos.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I pray you and your family have a beautifully blessed rest of your evening!

      Like

  2. minstrelgirl451 says:

    The skirt you made looks beautiful! I am glad you have a sewing mentor to guide you through the process. We don’t do much sewing, but we have made a few things. We had a seeing lesson at a friend’s house once, and it was so helpful to have that hands-on guidance!
    It is neat that you saw people wearing Plurway bracelets! I am glad you were able to talk to them. It reminds me of the Adventures in Odyssey episode, “A Glass Darkly.” (You can listen to it free here: http://www.faio.org/page5.htm It is episode 558) We may never know the effects of what we do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Thank you! I was too excited that I didn’t wait until it was hemmed to take the picture… I have made one more since then and it has pockets! I am glad you had a chance to have a teacher too, it makes it so much smoother of a process and, around here, it locks in the time for it – ha!
      Isn’t that neat?! I was unsure if I should say anything but, I knew that I was supposed to… God is truly amazing. I pray they learn that too. Thank you for the link! I will try to listen to it! 🙂 Numbers 6: 24-26

      Like

Leave a Reply

