Fill your cup.

Last week I got to go and have coffee with two of my favorite women. This coffee date started out as a coffee with my friend Ariana to celebrate my birthday (which was at the end of May). But, there ended up being always something happening and a specific date was never set; there is always something going on over here and she just had her second baby (whom I love so much) so we both just… understood it would happen one day. One night while she was over Mama mentioned that they needed to get coffee soon and Ariana brought up that she still needed to take me; Mama, being the smart woman that she is, took to the calendar to set a date (she is completely right when she says that unless it’s written on the calendar it will never happen).

I am so grateful to have such lovely company.

When the day came they decided on a coffee shop they had both been to before but I had not and I was excited to try it! I love black coffee. It is #1 on my favorite beverage list. I was interested in seeing what their “americano” tasted like. However… on the way there Mama told me about this coffee they had called “the Red Rock” and that it tastes like cinnamon toast crunch and that they have dairy-free milk options… this waaas a celebratory day after all…

Once we got there and were settled in with our delicious cups of happiness at one of the tables the words and laughter started flowing effortlessly. I don’t get that uncomfortable, awkward, “What do I talk about?” feeling when I am with them I get to just breathe and be; they love and accept me for who I am, weak imperfections and all. We didn’t check the time or feel rushed to move things along to get to the next place, we just enjoyed each others company. Over those two… ish… hours I got advice on balancing your passion/career/hobby with your family/rest/giving yourself grace, marriage, parenting, and the importance of putting God first and foremost above all else. We shared stories, funny moments that happened since we last saw each other, that feeling of knowing we are truly understood and lots and lots of laughter. There is something priceless about knowing that you are genuinely being listened to without judgement and only the best intentions at heart. I walked away from that table having learned more about real life and being a woman of God in two hours than I would have in six in any old classroom.

God knew that was exactly what I needed that day. There was a reason that “appointment” didn’t happen any sooner then it did. I walked out of that coffee shop with a huge, genuine smile on my face and in my heart. (My tummy too for that matter, that “Red Rock” coffee was so delicious!) Spending time with women that are able to offer me counsel and guide/direct me to the Lord and His word is absolutely priceless to me. I can’t imagine spending time sitting around talking about anything else… I love and cherish those long, edifying, soul refreshing conversations.

Scenes like this are my favorite!

Over this last year I have learned how truly important it is to have good, strong discernment when it comes to who you spend your time with. Because, whether you like it or not, you will start to take on the characteristics of the people you spend the most time with. I have also come to realize how valuable our short time here on this earth is. We were put here for one reason: to serve our Lord God. To share His love and saving grace in all of the beautifully different ways that we were created to.

I personally find it very important that I try and make the most out of each day that I am gifted. (This is a work in progress; there are plenty of days that come and go where I know I could have done better, or I feel as though I could have done more… These days are a part of the learning process as well and serve as reminders or motivators to do better tomorrow, Lord willing.) This makes me more aware and thoughtful about who I spend my time with and what I spend my time doing (Is it edifying/productive/bringing glory to God?). I am so grateful to have a home that I love being at and a family that I love spending my days with (I get to live with twelve of my best friends!) that it takes something really special to make me want to go somewhere; when I could be in the comfort of my home playing with my siblings, sewing a new skirt, working on a post to you, doing the laundry/dishes/something else I (wrongly) deem as being “more productive.” (I know… I am quickly learning that investing in people/God centered relationships and sharing God’s love and Word are the most valuable things you can do with your life.)

Best friends and coffee cups.

Don’t get me wrong!

I absolutely love being with friends and family playing games, going places and trying/doing new things, I love road trips and hiking and if you know me personally or have been reading this “online journal” along with me for any length of time then you already know that there is always something fun going on over here and that there are always new people coming through. I feel so blessed that I get to live where other people want to go to get away from their house…

I hope that this helped you in some way… or brought you some form of encouragement… I ended up taking the beginning and making it the end and well, then my thoughts just kind of poured out into what you have before you. I just know that this was what I was supposed to write to you about today. The topic of “friendship” is something that I am very passionate about; I think it is very important, but not in the same way/for the same reasons that the world does. As I wrap up this post today I want to leave you with a few questions to think about and if you have any for me please feel free to ask!

We left that coffee shop with empty cups and full hearts!

What qualities do you wish you saw in yourself? 

Do you seek relationships with people who have those qualities?

Take a moment and think of the people that you spend the most time with… what are their strongest qualities? Their weakest?

How do you feel after spending time with these people?

When you think of spending time with “friends” what do you usually think of to do? What should you think of to do?

How do you define the word “friend?”

Until next time; I pray your day, every day, is blessed.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Mama Diggles says:

    Beautifully written. You are very blessed to have such wonderful, godly,influences surrounding you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      Thank you! And yes, I agree; praise God! 🙂

      Like

  2. minstrelgirl451 says:

    After reading this, I was thinking about the various friends God has blessed me with (You included! ☺). I was also reminded of one of the many reasons spending time with God Himself is so important: He is the only Friend who is perfect in every way. How wonderful to let His qualities rub off on us as we spend time with him through prayer and reading His word!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modestly Me says:

      I feel very blessed to call you friend as well. I look forward to the day God crosses our paths again! (: Isn’t is comforting to know He is the only perfect friend? It definitely takes a pressure off of my shoulders of trying to do/be everything and makes my relationships so much more full because I have learned not to expect anything from anyone and to accept them as are… human. It is indeed wonderful to learn more about Him every day. Getting to spend time with Him is always the best part of any day. Thank you for commenting and I hope you and your wonderful family ! (:

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Modestly Me says:

    *have a great day! (:

    Liked by 1 person

  4. minstrelgirl451 says:

    Yes, it is. I had just been thinking of how I don’t keep up with my friends as well as I would like. Thank you for the encouragement. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

