Sugar Scrub & Sugar Cookies

Hello friend! I am so glad you could join me today for some “funday” stuff! This week I made some yummy stuff and I wanted to share them with you. So pour yourself a glass of lemonade, crank up your A.C. and enjoy!

Hebrews 10: 24-25 NKJV

“And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.” 

I don’t know about your point on the map but over here in the more desert type area it tends to get quite dry… so the other day I decided make some sugar scrub for my hands to help them out a little and it ended up working out really well; it’s a fun and simple activity and can also make a great gift!

**Sugar Scrub

“They speak of the glorious splendor of Your majesty – and I will meditate on Your wonderful works.” Psalm 145: 5 …God is truly amazing, He gives us everything we could ever need.

*Ingredients:

  • Organic (You guessed it!) Sugar
  • Coconut Oil
  • Olive Oil
  • Lemon Essential Oil
  • Peppermint Essential Oil
  • Container of Choice

*Directions:

  • Fill your container with sugar. (NOTE: after adding in the oils the amount will reduce; adjust accordingly.)
  • Add 2 tsp. of coconut oil and mix in until the sugar is evenly coated. (Again, NOTE: depending on the size of your container you may need more or less oil than I used.)
  • Add small splash of olive oil. (I was going for more of a light “summery” ha… summery… smell here and didn’t want the heaviness of the smell of olive oil but, I did want it’s thicker texture here.)
  • Lastly, I added 1 drop of peppermint and 2 drops of lemon essential oil. (But, you can use whatever oils make your smaller happy!)

I hope that you enjoy your new hand scrub! 

The other thing I made this week were sugar cookies! (I’m sensing a theme here…) they didn’t turn out quite like the picture… but, everyone said they were delicious and my siblings had a blast decorating them! (Best two out of three? Sounds like a winner to me!) I hope that you enjoy them and have as much fun as we did.

**Sugar Cookies:

    I told Kasey that I would use the “KC” brand baking powder instead of the cuter Trader Joe’s brand so that I would have another reason to promote his vlog!

    *Ingredients:

    • 2 sticks (1 cup) butter, softened
    • 1 cup sour cream
    • 1 3/4 cup granulated sugar
    • 2 eggs
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
    • 6 cups all purpose flour
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt (omit if using salted butter)

    (If this is seeming oddly specific for a recipe post coming from me, you got me… you can find the official recipe post -> here!)

    “Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for each other, love one another deeply, from the heart.” 1 Peter 1: 22

    *Directions:

    • Preheat oven to 400°. Line a baking sheet with a baking mat or parchment paper, set aside.
    • In a stand mixer fitted with a scraper/paddle attachment or in a large mixing bowl using a hand mixer, cream together the butter and sour cream until smooth and light in color.
    • Add in the sugar, eggs, vanilla extract, and almond extract. Mix until just combined.
    • In a separate mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt (if using). Add the dry ingredients to the wet in three additions—mixing well after each.
    • To form drop cookies: using damp hands, roll dough into 2″ balls and place 2″ apart on the prepared cookie sheet. Using a flat-bottomed glass dipped in water, press the cookie balls flat.
    • To form rolled cookies: cover the dough and chill for 20-30 minutes. Roll out on a lightly floured surface until 1/4″ thick. Using a biscuit cutter, cut cookies and place 2″ apart on the prepared cookie sheet.
    • Bake cookies in preheated oven for 5-7 minutes, until the cookies just begin to set up and the bottoms are lightly brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheet and let cool completely on a cooling rack before frosting.
    “Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the LORD has promised to those who love Him.” James 1: 12
    Mine looked oddly similar to biscuits…
    I pillaged the pantry and found everything from shredded coconut and raisins to mini Sno-caps and Fruit Loops!
    They turned out as amazing works of art!

    I hope that you love your cookies and that they bring you and everyone who gets to enjoy them smiles and happy tummies!

    I also hope that you enjoyed today’s post and I will see you soon for “Wordy Wednesday!”

    How do you like to spend your quality time with loved ones?

    What is your favorite thing to bake/cook?

    What are your favorite recipes?

    Until next time; I pray your day, every day, is blessed.

    4 Comments Add yours

    1. Lisa Virga. says:

      Yummy ! I love you. I love the Flynn family. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Modestly Me says:

        We love you too! 🙂

        Like

    2. twinky80 says:

      Hi Summer! I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog! This inspires me to cook more with Wesley and Savannah. You’re cookies came out great!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Modestly Me says:

        Thank you so much! 🙂 I hope that you guys enjoy it as much as we did! I also hope you guys are having a great day and all is well.

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    